Slider by IWEBIX

Yes, but it has not always been consistent, so it will sometimes depend on the card in reference. If a card refers to a “Character” then it is referring to all instances of dice of that character. If you are counting active characters, then you would count how many unique character dice are in the field (e.g. Half-Elf Bard).

If it refers to a “Character Die” then it would refer to a single die of that character. If you are counting Character dice, then you would count all active dice.

If it says “target character” then you will be targeting a specific character die.

Finally, if it states “Name a character”, it is referring to a character card (so all corresponding character dice would be impacted). Note: you cannot name “Sidekick” since it does not have a card.

From the rulebook:

“Some cards will have you check how many of a certain type of character are active. If an effect gave +1A for each active character, and you had 5 Character Dice in the Field Zone (3 different characters) and your opponent has 1 character die in the Field Zone, the effect would grant +4A (even if your opponent’s character was the same name as one of yours). If it doesn’t specify your characters, it checks yours and your opponent’s active characters or dice.”

What does “Out of Play” or “In Transit” mean?

From the rulebook:

“To pay energy during your turn, move dice showing that much energy from your Reserve Pool to Out of Play. Those dice will go to your Used Pile during Cleanup. You can also pay energy during your opponent’s turn, but that energy goes directly into your Used Pile. You can’t choose to spend energy for no reason.”

When played on your turn Action Dice also go to “out of Play” when used.

This means that, on your turn, once you have spent an energy or used an action die it cannot be accessed for game purposes (filling your bag, for example) until the end of the turn.

Note: there is not an “Out of Play” or “In Transit” zone on any official playmat.

If two cards directly conflict, the one that says “you can’t” beats the one that says “you can” or “you must”.

The active player has priority and all effects must resolve fully before another effect can be triggered, when priority is passed to the inactive player they may use 1 effect and pass priority back to the active player. Remembering this rule solves most timing issues. In the event of a truly simultaneous effect (such as one triggered by dealing damage and one triggered by receiving damage happening when combat damage is assigned) the active player gets to resolve their effects first. Simultaneous effects controlled by one player are resolved in the order of that player’s choice.